We Go to Battle to
Protect Your Freedom

Free Case Consultation

What is Crank? How to Handle Possession Charges

What is crank? Many people ask this in North Carolina as the state cracks down on methamphetamine possession. The government considers crank a dangerous and addictive drug, and it’s important to know what to do if law enforcement catches you possessing it. Let’s look at what crank is, the penalties for possession, and how to defend yourself against charges.

What is Crank?

Crank is a form of methamphetamine, and it’s illegal to possess without a prescription in North Carolina. A doctor may prescribe Desoxyn (a pharmaceutical brand of methamphetamine) for those struggling to live with ADHD. However, without a prescription, the government considers crank a dangerous drug. It is highly addictive and can lead to serious health problems. On the street, people may call it “speed,” “crystal,” “chalk,” or “ice.”

Individuals use crank by smoking, injecting, or snorting it. Possession of crank is a felony offense in North Carolina, and the penalties for possession are severe.

Similar Drugs to Crank

Many confuse crank (meth) with MDMA and MDA. However, these drugs are different chemicals generally sold in pill form. MDMA is better known as “ecstasy” or “molly.” MDA is a 3rd type of similar drug made from the oil in sassafrass plants. MDA is better known as “sally” or “sass.” 

What Are the Penalties for Possession?

The penalties for possessing crank depend on the amount of the drug you possess. According to NC Statute 90-95, penalties for various drug charges depend on each drug’s classification.

Meth possession is considered a felony in North Carolina. Simple possession of methamphetamine is a Class I felony. You can face 6 months to one year in prison as a first-time offender.

Crank Distribution, Trafficking, & Manufacturing

Distributing methamphetamine with less than 28 grams is a class H felony bringing up to 10 to 39 months in prison. 

However, if law enforcement finds you distributing 28 grams or more of meth, you can face charges of drug trafficking. Trafficking charges increase the minimum penalties substantially. You can face substantial prison sentences for trafficking meth at these amounts:

  • 28-200 grams: Class F felony with 10 to 41 months in prison and fines
  • 200-400 grams: Class E felony with up to 15 to 63 months in prison and fines

Another step in severity is manufacturing meth. Manufacturing meth (you possess more than 400 grams) is a Class C felony with a minimum of 44 to 182 months in prison and fines.

Meth Comes with Severe Penalties

NC law puts meth higher on the drug schedule in NC than other drugs like marijuana. Meth’s placement on the NC drug schedule for meth possession brings more severe penalties than a lower scheduled drug, such as marijuana.

The penalties for possessing crank are severe, and if you face a conviction, you will have a felony on your record. A felony criminal record is not a slight inconvenience. You can lose civil rights such as voting or the right to bear a firearm and lose out on housing, employment, and social standing.

What to Do If You Face Crank Possession Charges in NC

If law enforcement catches you in possession of methamphetamine, there are a few ways you can decrease your chances that law enforcement will charge you. The first thing you should do is remain calm and polite. You should also be respectful as much as possible. 

If law enforcement asks to search your vehicle or your person and you possess methamphetamines, politely say that you do not consent to a search. If you agree to a search, you can face possession charges. Although law enforcement may still search you or your vehicle, they have to have probable cause and an exception to the warrant requirement if you do not consent. 

It’s essential to remain calm and polite if the police stop you, but it’s also necessary to protect your rights. If you have methamphetamine on your person or in your car, don’t consent to a search. Instead, call an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately to help you protect your rights and defend yourself against criminal charges.

You can try to name the person who gave you the drug. This cooperation may help law enforcement build a case against that person instead of you. However, before providing names, talk with your criminal defense attorney to ensure the best outcome for yourself. Law enforcement may try to get you to cooperate while interviewing you. Do not agree to cooperation until you have an attorney and a clear, written agreement in place. 

Finally, remember that a court can use anything you say now against you later. So, be careful what you say on the phone, in person, or a jail cell overnight. Especially watch what you say when speaking with law enforcement officers trained to help you feel at ease and help you want to talk.

How to Defend Yourself Against Charges

If you face charges of crank possession, it’s essential to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately. An experienced attorney will be able to review the evidence against you and develop a defense strategy tailored to your specific case.

There are a variety of criminal defenses that your attorney may use to defend methamphetamine possession in North Carolina. Some of the most common criminal defenses include:

  • Illegal search and seizure: If the police found the methamphetamine illegally, your attorney may be able to get the evidence thrown out of court.
  • The drugs didn’t belong to you: If police find the drugs in your car or home, your attorney may be able to argue that they belonged to someone else.
  • You didn’t know what the drug was: If you didn’t know that the drug was methamphetamine, your attorney may argue that you didn’t know what you were doing was illegal.
  • You only possessed the drug for personal use: Although possession of methamphetamine is still a felony in North Carolina, your attorney may be able to argue for a lighter sentence if you were only possessing the drug for personal use.

Possession of methamphetamine is a severe offense in North Carolina. If you’re convicted, you will face significant penalties. If you’re facing charges for possessing crank, don’t try to defend yourself without an attorney.

An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you fight the charges and protect your rights.

We Can Help

If you face charges with possession of crank or any other drug offenses, contact our experienced criminal defense attorneys at Scharff Law. We are here to help you through this difficult time. An experienced attorney will be able to review the evidence against you and develop a defense strategy tailored to your specific case. Call us today to schedule a consultation. We will fight for you.

Scharff Law is a North Carolina-based law firm specializing in criminal defense. If you or someone you know faces drug charges, contact us today for a free consultation. Our experienced attorneys are here to help you defend your rights and get the best possible outcome for your case.